CAPITOL BUILDING, ROOM 241 SOUTH TOPEKA, KS 66612



PHONE: (785) 296-3232 GOVERNOR.KANSAS.GOV

GOVERNOR LAURA KELLY

For Immediate Release: January 18, 2024

Contact: Grace Hoge <u>Grace.Hoge@ks.gov</u>

Governor Kelly Announces More than \$2M to Improve Criminal Justice System & Crime Victims Services

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly today announced that more than \$2.3 million will be awarded to 28 Kansas agencies to improve the criminal justice system and enhance support services for crime victims.

"These investments into our criminal justice system and crime victims service programs will make our communities safer," **Governor Laura Kelly said**. "These grants provide the funding necessary to strengthen crime prevention and crime victims services, address equipment and technology needs, and support mental health services."

This funding comes from the 2024 Federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program.

The Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (KCJCC) oversees the criminal justice federal funding made available to Kansas through the U.S. Department of Justice. The KCJCC membership is representative of the Governor, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Attorney General, the Secretary of Corrections, the Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol, and the Director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

A total of \$2,344,580 was awarded.

County	Organization Name	Grant Award
Bourbon	Bourbon County Sheriff's Office	\$18,250
Cherokee	Cherokee County Sheriff's Office	\$29,751
Coffey	Coffey County Sheriff's Office	\$60,400
Douglas	The Sexual Trauma and Abuse Care Center	\$33,611
Ellis	Northwest Kansas Community Corrections	\$99,045
Jackson	Jackson County Sheriff's Office	\$124,736
Johnson	Johnson County Crime Lab	\$100,000
Johnson	Merriam Police Department	\$102,172
Johnson	One Heart Project	\$74,221
Leavenworth	Basehor Police Department	\$37,500
Leavenworth	Brothers In Blue Reentry	\$96,620
Logan	Oakley Police Department	\$73,000
Lyon	5 th Judicial District Community Corrections	\$36,730
Marshall	Marysville Police Department	\$43,008
Meade	Meade County Sheriff's Office	\$39,128
Miami	Miami County Sheriff's Office	\$224,361
Montgomery	Coffeyville Police Department	\$45,487
Morris	Council Grove Police Department	\$9,319

Ottawa	Ottawa County Sheriff's Office	\$30,027
Riley	Sunflower Children's Collective	\$12,863
Saline	28 th Judicial District Community Corrections	\$26,775
Saline	Kansas Wesleyan University	\$89,521
Shawnee	Kansas Department of Corrections	\$136,004
Shawnee	Kansas Judicial Branch	\$219,842
Sumner	Wellington Police Department	\$143,933
Wyandotte	Avenue of Life	\$74,119
Wyandotte	Unified Gov't. of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas	\$170,432
Wyandotte	Village Initiative	\$193,725
	TOTAL	\$2,344,580

###